top of page
Search

Getting to Know Jason Crutchley



Hello friends, today I have an wonderful and inspiring chat with an amazing heart warrior... Jason Crutchley, he has also been a speaker for a CHD conference and has also wrote in a book called The Heart of A Heart Warrior. Let's get into the conversation and get to know Jason more.



WOG: Hello, Jason, thank you for having this chat with me.

J.C. How have you been? I am thriving! WOG: First off..what is it like growing up with CHD for you and did God play a role in CHD journey?

J.C : I was raised like any other healthy child. Encouraged to run, bike ride, play outside, play sports, do whatever made me happy. However, unlike healthy children, my CHD slowed me down. Sure I could do all those things but generally at a slower pace than others and I would tire easier. Unlike other healthy children I was in and out of hospitals, doctors offices and procedures regularly, I would say at least 3 times a year. God certainly played a role in my CHD journey. Mark 10:27 reminds us “all things are possible with God” This was instilled in me at a very young age and when I get frustrated, down and feeling defeated I’m reminded of this. God has carried me many times in my life. I can count on Him. WOG: Please tell us how you came upon the heart community and become a speaker this year at the conference?

J.C : At age 6, I was the first child at UCLA to undergo the “Classic Fontan” surgery thus paving the way for others by effectively training other surgeons. When I went thru heart & liver transplant evaluation I was doing research on what to expect. Unfortunately there wasn’t really anything out there so I decided to document my entire journey and put it on Facebook thru “Jason’s heart & liver transplant journey”. Not knowing it, I opened so many doors to so many people world wide. I was discovered by many in the heart community and just continued to tell my story to anyone that will listen. WOG: Has your faith always been strong, or have you ever had that feeling of doubt before, if so how did you overcome it?

J.C: I have always had a strong faith. That being said, I have/do lack understanding. I have complete faith God has His plans which are perfect but many times I don’t understand them. I don’t understand why He choose to take my brother from me at such a young age. Currently, I don’t understand why I uprooted from CA to Virginia. What I do understand is that God has perfect reasons and it’s my belief we will experience the “ah ha, now I understand” moment when we are called HOME. WOG: Lastly, if you could tell someone with CHD anything what would it be?

J.C.: Let go of your understanding and let God lead your way. Go out and live your life. Don’t let your CHD get in the ways of your dreams. Listen to Tim McGraw “Standing room only” and live like that. Lastly, always, ALWAYS put God first in your life. WOG: Thank you Jason for telling us your story of faith and CHD, and we hope those who are reading this will never give up hope.


Hugs and Love: Wonder of Grace Blog




31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page